Blog entry
Leave a comment

Methodology Workshop on Software Studies

Introduction to the topic: How to investigate the new normal? In search of inventive methods for inquiring the datafication of education“

On Thursday, 30 January 2020, a methodology workshop on software studies took place at the premises of the Institute for Information Management Bremen (ifib). Participants were representatives of all participating subprojects as well as Mathias Decuypere, who is an assistant professor at the KU Leuven and researches and teaches in the field of educational science methodology.

The workshop was opened with a presentation of Decuypere’s work on the topic “How to investigate the new normal? In search of inventive methods for inquiring the datafication of education”. The workshop was followed by a fruitful exchange of ideas between the participants. Various approaches from Decuypere’s presentation were taken up and further developed. Many valuable references to interesting literature sources and other projects were exchanged. In the course of this, the influence of the order of the methods used on the results was discussed, among other things.

After a short break, Jasmin Troeger and Irina Zakharova presented the current status of the methods used in subprojects 2 and 3, as well as considerations for further work. A lively exchange of ideas was also fostered on these presentations. 

The workshop was guided by the following questions:

  • How can we study (learning) software? How can we frame/understand software?
  • What are the challenges in studying software?
  • What types of methods can be used and what types of knowledge do they produce/what types of knowledge do they privilege?
  • How can we study data produced and processed in such systems?
  • What are the effects of using certain methods / following certain approaches (e.g. with regard to the performativity of our methods and procedures)

All participants of the joint project would like to thank Mathias Decuypere once again for his interest in the DATAFIED project, his participation in the Software Studies Workshop, and his valuable input.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Blogeintrag
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Software Studies Methodenworkshop

Einstieg in das Thema: How to investigate the new normal? In search of inventive methods for inquiring the datafication of education“

Am Donnerstag, den 30. Januar 2020 fand in den Räumlichkeiten des Instituts für Informationsmanagement Bremen (ifib) ein Methodenworkshop zu Software Studies statt. Teilgenommen haben sowohl Vertreter*innen aller beteiligter Teilprojekte, als auch Mathias Decuypere, welcher als Assistenzprofessor an der KU Leuven im Bereich der Methodik der Bildungswissenschaften forscht und lehrt.

Eingeleitet wurde der Workshop mit einer Präsentation Decuyperes Arbeit zum Thema „How to investigate the new normal? In search of inventive methods for inquiring the datafication of education“. Im Anschluss erfolgte ein fruchtbarer Austausch der Teilnehmenden. Hierbei wurden verschiedene Ansätze aus Decuyperes Präsentation aufgegriffen und weitergedacht. Es konnten viele kostbare Hinweise auf interessante Literaturquellen und weitere Projekte ausgetauscht werden. In diesem Zuge wurde unter Anderem der Einfluss der Reihenfolge der eingesetzten Methoden auf die Ergebnisse diskutiert.

Nach einer kurzen Pause stellten im Anschluss Jasmin Troeger und Irina Zakharova den aktuellen Stand zu den eingesetzten Methoden der Teilprojekte 2 und 3, sowie Überlegungen zur Weiterarbeit vor. Auch zu diesen Vorträgen wurde ein reger Austausch vorangetrieben. 

Leitend für den Workshop waren die folgenden Fragestellungen:

  • Wie können wir (Lern-)Software studieren? Wie können wir Software rahmen/verstehen?
  • Was sind die Herausforderungen beim Studium von Software?
  • Welche Arten von Methoden können verwendet werden und welche Arten von Wissen produzieren sie/welche Arten von Wissen privilegieren sie?
  • Wie können wir Daten untersuchen, die in solchen Systemen produziert und verarbeitet werden?
  • Was sind die Auswirkungen der Anwendung bestimmter Methoden/der Befolgung bestimmter Ansätze (z.B. im Hinblick auf die Performativität unserer Methoden und Verfahren)

Alle Teilnehmenden des Verbundprojekts möchten sich noch einmal herzlich für Mathias Decuyperes Interesse am DATAFIED-Projekt, die Teilnahme am Software Studies Workshop, sowie seinen wertvollen Input bedanken.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.