About the Project

On the First of December 2018, the joint research project DATAFIED (DATA For and In EDucation) has been officially launched and ended successfully on the 31st of May 2022. Together the Leibniz Institute for Educational Media | Georg Eckert Institute (GEI), the Institute for Informationmanagement Bremen (ifib), the Helmut Schmidt University Hamburg (HSU), and the Leibniz Institute for Educational Research and Information (DIPF), investigated the effects of the advancing digitization and the attached datafication in the school education system. Datafication, by the means of the school education system, can be perceived in a way that data is collected on all processes of the school system, which simultaneously influences decision-making and opinion-forming processes of various school actors (e.g. education policy, school supervision, school authorities, teachers or parents).

The collection and use of data is by no means neutral: Which data is collected for which reasons, which is not queried? What happens to the data? What conclusions can be drawn from this, with regard to the ideal of “good” education and the “right” implementation of digital aids?

The BMBF and the Kultusministerkonferenz have anchored the increasing digitisation of the school system within their strategy papers. In addition to that, the currently discussed amendment to the the “Digitalpakt” is reaffirmed. In this context DATAFIED was an important constituent in the research and evaluation of the progress made so far.

Alongside the digitalization, a comprehensive datafication of the school system is occurring nowadays, which collects data in all processes of the school system which simultaneously influences decision-making and opinion-forming processes in education policy, school supervision, school authorities, school management, teachers, pupils and their parents as well as the public. Their origin, interpretation and use is not (value-) neutral, as the data itself already includes ideas of “good education” or “good school” and “good teaching“. Contemporaneous increasing datafication is changing the roles of teachers, pupils and other actors in the education system and their relationships with each other. The joint research project described these processes of change from four different, interwoven perspectives and analyzed them on the basis of its own empirical studies at four interfaces of the school education system: School Inspectorate and School (SP1), School management and school information systems (SP2), Digital learning software and teaching (SP3), Teachers and students in class (SP4). The aim was to describe the formative role of data in order to gain insights about the role change and professional understanding, and to generate impulses that support future decisions regarding the design of data practices in the education system.

The joint research project DATAFIED was scheduled for 3 years (1st December 2018 – 31st November 2021) as part of the “Rahmenprogramm empirische Bildungsforschung” of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.  In the end of 2021 we received the possibility to prolong the project for the time of 6 month (until 31st of may 2022) to balance out delays caused by the pandemic. The project has been successfully concluded on the 31st of May 2022. The results will be published in a book giving detailed insights on each subproject in various chapters. More information on the book will be made available here as soon as possible.

For further information to this topic as well as other projects you can find on the homepage: Rahmenprogramm empirische Bildungsforschung

Über das Projekt

Kurzvorstellung des DATAFIED Projektes und der einzelnen Teilprojekte

Am 1. Dezember 2018 ist das Verbundprojekt DATAFIED (DATA For and In EDucation) offiziell gestartet und konnte am 31. Mai 2022 erfolgreich beendet werden. Zusammen mit dem Leibniz-Institut für Bildungsmedien | Georg-Eckert-Institut (GEI), der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg (HSU), dem Institut für Informationsmanagement Bremen (ifib), sowie dem Leibniz-Institut für Bildungsforschung und Bildungsinformation (DIPF) wurden die Auswirkungen der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung und der damit einhergehenden Datafizierung im schulischen Bildungssystem untersucht. Datafizierung meint hier, dass über alle Prozesse des Schulsystems Daten gesammelt werden, die gleichzeitig Entscheidungs- und Meinungsbildungsprozesse verschiedener schulischer Akteure (etwa Bildungspolitik, Schulaufsicht, Schulträger, Lehrkräfte oder Eltern) beeinflussen.

Sowohl das BMBF, als auch die Kultusministerkonferenz haben die zunehmende Digitalisierung im Schulwesen in ihren Strategiepapieren fest verankert. Dies wird auch durch die aktuell diskutierte Grundgesetzänderung im Rahmen des „DigitalPakt Schulen“ bekräftigt. DATAFIED bildet in diesem Kontext einen wichtigen Baustein in der Erforschung und Evaluation der bisherigen Fortschritte.

Die Erhebung und Nutzung von Daten ist keineswegs neutral: Welche Daten werden aus welchen Gründen erhoben, welche werden nicht abgefragt? Was geschieht mit diesen Daten? Welche Rückschlüsse lassen sich daraus in Bezug auf die Idealvorstellung von „guter“ Bildung und der „richtigen“ Implementierung digitaler Hilfsmittel ziehen?

Mit der Digitalisierung geht eine umfassende Datafizierung des Schulsystems vonstatten, bei der in allen Prozessen des Schulsystems Daten gesammelt werden, die gleichzeitig Entscheidungs- und Meinungsbildungsprozesse der Bildungspolitik, der Schulaufsicht, der Schulträger, der Schulleitungen, der Lehrkräfte, der Schüler*innen und ihrer Eltern sowie der Öffentlichkeit beeinflussen. Ihre Entstehung, Interpretation und Verwendung ist dabei nicht (wert-) neutral, sondern in die Daten selbst sind bereits Vorstellungen von “guter Bildung” bzw. „guter Schule“ und „gutem Unterricht“ eingeschrieben. Gleichzeitig verändern sich durch die zunehmende Datafizierung die Rollen der Lehrkräfte, Schüler*innen und weiterer Akteure im Bildungssystem sowie ihre Beziehungen zueinander. Das Verbundprojekt hat diese Veränderungsprozesse aus vier unterschiedlichen, miteinander verwobenen Perspektiven beschrieben und auf Basis eigener empirischer Studien an vier Schnittstellen des schulischen Bildungswesens analysiert: Schulaufsicht und Schule (Teilprojekt 1), Schulinformationssysteme und Schulmanagement (Teilprojekt 2), Lernsoftware und Unterricht (Teilprojekt 3) sowie Lehrkräfte und Schüler*innen im Unterricht (Teilprojekt 4). Ziel war es, die prägende Rolle von Daten zu beschreiben, damit Erkenntnisse in Bezug auf den Rollenwandel und das Professionsverständnis zu gewinnen, sowie Impulse zu generieren, die zukünftige Entscheidungen in Bezug auf die Gestaltung von Datenpraktiken im Bildungssystem unterstützen.

Das Verbundprojekt DATAFIED war zunächst auf eine dreijährige Laufzeit (01.12.2018 – 31.11.2021) ausgelegt als Teil des Rahmenprogramms „empirische Bildungsforschung“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung. Ende 2021 haben wir eine Verlängerung um weitere 6 Monate (bis 31.05.2022) erhalten um pandemie-bedingte Verzögerungen auszugleichen. Mit Ablauf der Verlängerung wurde das Projekt erfolgreich beendet. Eine Puublizierung der Ergebnisse in Buchform wird voraussichtlich im November 2022 geschehen.

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Themenbereich und weiteren Projekten erhalten sie auf der Homepage: Rahmenprogramm empirische Bildungsforschung