Blog entry
Leave a comment

Speculative Fiction as a method of investigation: Prof. Dr. Felicitas Macgilchrist presents paper at the University of Utrecht

Screenshot of the seminar “Transmissions in Motion” at the University of Utrecht

What will school look like in 2040? Which socio-technical assemblages will be shaped? How will learners be addressed as subjects?

Prof. Dr. Felicitas Macgilchrist poses these questions in her paperStudents and society in the 2020s. Three futurehistoriesof education and technology“, which she wrote together with Heidrun Allert and Anne Bruch and which she reported on in the seminarTransmissions in Motion” at the University of Utrecht. In theirSocial Science Fictionpaper the authors formulate three different versions of the future 

In the first, learners become so-called “smooth userswho optimize themselves in the pursuit of frictionless efficiency within a post-democratic framework created by large corporations. Because the 2020s had to respond to digitisation and its challenges, education was “smoothedby technological support, entrepreneurs and tech companies became government advisors, decisions were made behind closed doors, and schools became dependent on companies. Educational software was designed to be particularly user-friendly, smooth and groundbreaking, making students less independent, especially in non-cognitive learning dimensions, and their self-optimization became the key process 

The second vision predicts learners as “digital nomads” who seek freedom, individualism, and aesthetic pleasure as solopreneurs, who exploit state regulation and algorithmic rules as they dive deep into a capitalist new economy. In the 2020s, these nomads lived in countries with a low cost of living, but worked in high-wage countries. Through an understanding of algorithms and an authentic, independent entrepreneurial identity, they built their own brand, earned a lot of money by doing so, partly because they avoided government regulations such as taxes, and educated their children online and/or at home. The technical support for their holistic lifestyle was mainly provided by techniques such as life/bio-hacking and the data monopolies of big tech giants manifested themselves. 

In the third vision, learners are participatory, democratic, ecologically aware people, embedded in a “collective capacity to act”, who see institutions as spaces for research into fairer ways of life. In the 2020s it was realized that capitalism had a bad impact on social justice, environment, and independence. Privacy by Design became mandatory for educational software in the EU, OER and Open Source were promoted and established, students learned in hackathons to modify and develop software, and data activism as well as democratic, environmentally conscious responsibility were trained. 

The three visions emerged from the analysis of current educational discourses and developments. In this critical, discourse-theoretical research approach, the focus was primarily on processes of subjectivation. The approach also offers several access points for the following research questions, since a speculative approach in (ethnographic) research can help to better perceive relevant events or ruptures and to recognize new objects of interest.    

Macgilchrist mentions datafication as one such object example in the TiM seminar podcast. Here, a speculative research design could be used to analyze the tracking of learners, the capitalistic use of (learning) data, and example projects that emphasize data justice. In their forthcoming paper on predictive analytics, Felicitas Macgilchrist and Juliane Jarke from the DATAFIED project, for example, focus on a program that reports students whose transfer is at risk. One area of this software is “social learningas a predictive factor. Here, the software tracks which learners communicate particularly frequently with others within the platform, which is then visualised in a network map with colour codes and incorporated into the risk analysis. The problem: the software does not track physical exchanges between learners, but only what takes place on the platform itself. In the future, it could therefore be possible that the learners shift their communication completely to the platform in order to counteract a negative risk assessment by the system. Important risk-reducing face-to-face interactions could be overseen by teachers because they are not “countedby the software system. 

Macgilchrist considers it a problem that the public discourse on education policy still focuses too much on the availability of and equipment with hardware. Software is almost completely ignored here, although it also implies important political and social issues: How are developers trained in the social implications of their actions? Why is this not yet part of their education and what does it mean? How diverse are development teams and how is this reflected in software? How can experiences of exclusion be incorporated into software development and how do we react to incidents of discrimination in educational software? 

 

Links to the mentioned paper and the lecture: 

Felicitas Macgilchrist, Heidrun Allert & Anne Bruch (2020) Students and society in the 2020s. Three future ‘histories’ of education and technology, Learning, Media and Technology, 45:1, 76-89, DOI: 10.1080/17439884.2019.1656235 

“What Follows for Students & Society in the 2020s? 3 Speculative Futures for Education & Technology” (Recorded Session) https://transmissioninmotion.sites.uu.nl/tim-recorded-session-what-follows-for-students-society-in-the-2020s-three-speculative-futures-for-education-technology/ 

TiM Seminar Podcast #3: Felicitas Macgilchrist on Speculative Futures for Education and Technology https://transmissioninmotion.sites.uu.nl/tim-seminar-podcast-3-felicitas-macgilchrist-on-speculative-futures-for-education-and-technology/ 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Blogeintrag
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Speculative Fiction als Untersuchungsmethode: Prof. Dr. Felicitas Macgilchrist stellt Paper an Universität Utrecht vor

Screenshot vom Seminar „Transmissions in Motion“ der Universität Utrecht

Wie sieht Schule im Jahr 2040 aus? Welche soziotechnischen Assemblages werden geformt? Wie werden Lernende als Subjekte adressiert?

Diese Fragen stellt sich Prof. Dr. Felicitas Macgilchrist in ihrem PaperStudents and society in the 2020s. Three futurehistoriesof education and technology”, das sie gemeinsam mit Heidrun Allert und Anne Bruch geschrieben hat und über welches sie im Seminar “Transmissions in Motion” der Universität Utrecht berichtete. In ihrem “Social Science Fiction”-Paper formulieren die Autorinnen drei unterschiedliche Zukunftsversionen. 

In der ersten werden Lernende zu sogenannten „smooth users“ , die sich selbst im Streben nach reibungsloser Effizienz innerhalb eines post-demokratischen Rahmens, der von großen Konzernen geschaffen wurde, optimieren. Weil in den 2020ern auf Digitalisierung und ihre Herausforderungen reagieren werden musste, wurde Bildung wurde durch technologische Unterstützung “geglättet”, Entrepreneur*innen und Tech-Unternehmen wurden zu Berater*innen der Regierung, Entscheidungen fanden hinter verschlossenen Türen statt und die Schulen wurden von Unternehmen abhängig. Lernsoftware wurde besonders benutzerfreundlich, reibungslos und wegweisend designt, was die Schüler*innen weniger selbstständig werden ließ, vor allem in nicht-kognitiven Lerndimensionen, und ihre Selbstoptimierung wurde zum maßgeblichen Prozess. 

Die zweite Vision sagt Lernende als „digitale Nomaden“ voraus, welche Freiheit, Individualismus und ästhetische Freude als Solopreneurs suchen, welche staatliche Regulierungen und algorithmische Regeln ausnutzen, während sie tief in eine kapitalistische neue Ökonomie einsteigen. In den 2020ern lebten diese Nomaden in Ländern mit geringen Lebenshaltungskosten, arbeiteten aber in Hochlohnländern. Durch ein Verständnis von Algorithmen und eine authentische, unabhängige Entrepreneur-Identität bauten sie eigene Marke auf, verdienten dadurch sehr viel Geld, auch weil sie staatliche Regulierungen wie Steuern umgingen, und schulten ihre Kinder online und/oder zuhause. Die technische Unterstützung ihres holistischen Lebensstils erfolgte vor allem durch Techniken wie das Life-/Bio-Hacking und die Datenmonopole großer Tech-Riesen manifestierten sich. 

In der dritten Vision sind Lernende partizipatorische, demokratische, ökologiebewusst lebende  Menschen, eingebettet in eine „kollektive Handlungsfähigkeit“, die Institutionen als Räume für die Erforschung gerechterer Lebensweisen sehen. In den 2020ern wurde realisiert, dass der Kapitalismus schlechte Auswirkungen auf soziale Gerechtigkeit, Umwelt und Unabhängigkeit hatte. Privacy by Design wurde in der EU Pflicht für Lernsoftware, OER und Open Source wurden gefördert und etabliert, Schüler*innen lernten in Hackathons, Software zu verändern und zu entwickeln und Datenaktivismus sowie demokratische, umweltbewusste Verantwortung wurden geschult. 

Die drei Visionen entstanden aus der Analyse derzeitiger Bildungsdiskurse und entwicklungen. In diesem kritischen, diskurstheoretischen Forschungsansatz lag der Fokus vor allem auf Prozessen der Subjektivierung. Der Ansatz bietet zudem mehrere Zugänge für folgende Forschungsfragen, da ein spekulativer Approach in (ethnografischer) Forschung dabei helfen kann, relevante Ereignisse bzw. Brüche besser wahrzunehmen und neue Gegenstände zu erkennen.  

Als ein solches GegenstandsBeispiel nennt Macgilchrist im TiM-Seminar-Podcast die Datafizierung. Hier könnten durch ein spekulatives Forschungsdesign das Tracking von Lernenden, die kapitalistische Nutzung der (Lern)daten und Beispielprojekte, in denen auf Data Justice wertgelegt wird, genauer analysiert werden. In ihrem gerade entstehenden Paper über Predictive Analytics widmen sich Felicitas Macgilchrist und Juliane Jarke aus dem DATAFIED-Projekt beispielsweis einem Programm, dass Schüler*innen meldet, deren Versetzung gefährdet ist. Ein Bereich dieser Software ist das “Social Learning” als prädiktiver Faktor. Hier trackt die Software, welche Lernenden besonders viel mit anderen innerhalb der Plattform kommunizieren, was dann in einer Netzwerkkarte mit Farbcodes visualisiert wird und in die Risikoanalyse einfließt. Das Problem: die Software trackt keinen physischen Austausch unter den Lernenden, sondern nur das, was auf der Plattform selbst stattfindet. In Zukunft könnte es also sein, dass die Lernenden ihre Kommunikation komplett auf die Plattform verlegen, um einer negativen Risikoeinschätzung durch das System entgegenzuwirken. Wichtige risikomindernde face-to-face Interaktionen könnten von Lehrenden übersehen werden, da sie nicht vom Softwaresystem “mitgezählt” werden. 

Für ein Problem hält Macgilchrist, dass sich der öffentliche bildungspolitische Diskurs noch zu sehr auf die Verfügbarkeit von und Ausstattung mit Hardware konzentriert. Software wird hier fast ganz ignoriert, obwohl auch sie wichtige politisch-soziale Fragestellungen impliziert: Wie sind Entwickler*innen hinsichtlich sozialer Implikationen ihrer Handlungen geschult? Warum ist dies bisher kein Teil ihrer Ausbildung und was bedeutet das? Wie divers sind Entwicklerteams und wie spiegelt sich dies in Software wider? Wie können Erfahrungen von Ausgrenzung in Softwareentwicklung einfließen und wie wird auf Diskriminierungsvorfälle in Lernsoftware reagiert? 

 

Links zum erwähnten Paper und dem Vortrag: 

Felicitas Macgilchrist, Heidrun Allert & Anne Bruch (2020) Students and society in the 2020s. Three futurehistoriesof education and technology, Learning, Media and Technology, 45:1, 76-89, DOI: 10.1080/17439884.2019.1656235 

What Follows for Students & Society in the 2020s? 3 Speculative Futures for Education & Technology” (Recorded Session) https://transmissioninmotion.sites.uu.nl/tim-recorded-session-what-follows-for-students-society-in-the-2020s-three-speculative-futures-for-education-technology/ 

TiM Seminar Podcast #3: Felicitas Macgilchrist on Speculative Futures for Education and Technology https://transmissioninmotion.sites.uu.nl/tim-seminar-podcast-3-felicitas-macgilchrist-on-speculative-futures-for-education-and-technology/ 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.