Blog entry
Leave a comment

Digital Education in the US and Germany: Promises and Challenges

On October 21st, Andreas Breiter as head of the DATAFIED project took part in an international panel discussion on the future of digital education. It was organized by the German Embassy in Washington, the German Consulate General in San Francisco and the German Center for Research and Innovation and Innovation (DWIH) New York. He discussed current developments in both countries as well as chances and risks with four other experts: Barbara Holzapfel (VP Microsoft Education), Maureen McLaughlin (Senior Advisor to the Secretary and Director of International Affairs, U.S. Department of Education)

Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel (CEO and Scientific Director, Hasso Plattner Institute for Digital Engineering (HPI)).

His main statement was a déja-vu. 20 years ago, he collected data for his PhD research project in U.S. states (CA, MA, IL) and districts as well as in schools. This was compared to the German school system. The first result was the different speed of ICT and media integration in classroom practices and school management, as well as in educational policies (Breiter 2000). The “connector” between school development, district decisions and state policy making was the then called “Technology Plan”.  It was mainly pedagogical and defined the requirements for ICT infrastructure. In the U.S., a Technology Plan was required from each school, each corresponding school district, and the Department of Education of each State. Even on the federal level (as powerless as in Germany), there was and is a Federal Technology Plan (currently open for revision in an online consultation process: https://tech.ed.gov/netp/). In Germany, the necessity of planning for education ICT infrastructure was  neglected for quite a long time. As late as of 2018, the new DigitalPakt Schule made it a prerequisite for schools (and Schultraeger, ie. school districts) to receive funding.   

The second result was the necessity of federal engagement. Already in 1996, the U.S government launched an infrastructure support program under the Telecommunications Act: the e-Rate. Until now it supports especially poorer districts (and schools) to improve their ICT infrastructure and it is worth more than $2.5 billion (per year, approx. 100,000 public schools). Germany started two years ago in 2019 with a 5-year program (DigitalPakt Schule) with overall 5 billion Euros (approx. 40,000 schools). Better later than never!

But this is only the tip of the iceberg when we look at the digital transformation of schooling. ICT infrastructure and mobile devices are relatively easy to purchase and to roll-out (just a question of money and political will – and professional ICT support structures). But substantial changes in curriculum and classroom practice require a long breath and are part of a school development process. At the bottom of the iceberg, there has to be teacher’s values and beliefs considered (check Welling et al. 2015). This requires intelligent teacher training and teacher education. And in this respect, the two countries face similar challenges. Hence, it is worth exchanging good practices and working policies between the countries. In fact, the school systems are more similar than one might think.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Blogeintrag
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Digitale Bildung in den USA und Deutschland: Versprechungen und Herausforderungen

Am 21. Oktober nahm Andreas Breiter als Leiter des Projekts DATAFIED an einer internationalen Podiumsdiskussion über die Zukunft der digitalen Bildung teil. Sie wurde von der Deutschen Botschaft in Washington, dem Deutschen Generalkonsulat in San Francisco und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Forschung und Innovation (DWIH) New York organisiert. Er diskutierte die aktuellen Entwicklungen in beiden Ländern sowie Chancen und Risiken mit vier weiteren Experten: Barbara Holzapfel (VP Microsoft Education), Maureen McLaughlin (U.S. Department of Education)

Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel (Geschäftsführer und wissenschaftlicher Direktor, Hasso-Plattner-Institut für Digitaltechnik (HPI)).

In der Diskussion war seine Hauptaussage ein Déja-vu: Vor 20 Jahren sammelte er für sein Promotionsprojekt Daten in US-Bundesstaaten (CA, MA, IL) und Distrikten sowie in Schulen. Diese wurden mit dem deutschen Schulsystem verglichen. Das erste Ergebnis war die unterschiedliche Geschwindigkeit der IKT- und Medienintegration in der Unterrichtspraxis und im Schulmanagement sowie in der Bildungspolitik (Breiter 2000). Das „Bindeglied“ zwischen Schulentwicklung, Bezirksentscheidungen und staatlicher Politikgestaltung war der damals so genannte „Technologieplan“.  Er war hauptsächlich pädagogisch ausgerichtet und definierte die Anforderungen an die IKT-Infrastruktur. In den USA wurde von jeder Schule, jedem entsprechenden Schulbezirk und dem Bildungsministerium jedes Bundesstaates ein Technologieplan verlangt. Sogar auf föderaler Ebene (ebenso machtlos wie in Deutschland) gab und gibt es einen „Federal Technology Plan“ (derzeit zur Überarbeitung in einem Online-Konsultationsverfahren offen: https://tech.ed.gov/netp/). In Deutschland wurde die Notwendigkeit der Planung der IKT-Infrastruktur im Bildungsbereich lange Zeit vernachlässigt. Erst mit dem neuen DigitalPakt Schule wurde erst ab 2018 die Förderung von Schulen (und Schulträgern) zur Voraussetzung gemacht.   

Das zweite Ergebnis war die Notwendigkeit eines föderalen Engagements. Bereits 1996 startete die US-Regierung im Rahmen des Telekommunikationsgesetzes ein Programm zur Infrastrukturförderung: die e-Rate. Bis heute unterstützt es besonders ärmere Distrikte (und Schulen) bei der Verbesserung ihrer IKT-Infrastruktur und ist mehr als 2,5 Milliarden Dollar pro Jahr (ca. 100.000 öffentliche Schulen) wert. Deutschland startete vor zwei Jahren im Jahr 2019 mit einem 5-Jahres-Programm (DigitalPakt Schule) mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 5 Milliarden Euro (ca. 40.000 Schulen).

Doch dies ist nur die Spitze des Eisbergs, wenn die digitale Transformation der Schule betrachtet wird. IKT-Infrastruktur und mobile Geräte sind relativ einfach zu erwerben und einzuführen (nur eine Frage des Geldes und des politischen Willens – und professioneller IKT-Unterstützungsstrukturen). Doch substanzielle Veränderungen im Lehrplan und in der Unterrichtspraxis erfordern einen langen Atem und sind Teil eines Schulentwicklungsprozesses. Am Grund des Eisbergs müssen die Werte und Überzeugungen der Lehrer berücksichtigt werden (siehe Welling et al. 2015). Dies erfordert eine intelligente Lehrerausbildung und Lehrerfortbildung. Und in dieser Hinsicht stehen die beiden Länder vor ähnlichen Herausforderungen. Daher lohnt es sich, gute Praktiken und Arbeitsrichtlinien zwischen den Ländern auszutauschen. Tatsächlich sind sich die Schulsysteme ähnlicher, als man denken mag.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.